How & Why To Buy On Amazon

So Amazon being the world’s largest flea market of sorts where you can find virtually  anything and I do mean anything, have you ever shopped for clothing and accessories there? I never used to shop for clothes and such online until recently and now I’m hooked at shopping at Amazon. Let me tell you why.

Amazon has a customer first policy. I have Prime Membership, which gives me two day shipping, along with loads of other special things, like tv shows, music, movies, audio channels, photo storage, books and special deals on merchandise. It costs me $10.99 monthly or $99 annually. I can share these benefits with my family. To me, the cost of free shipping on any Prime order more than pays for my membership.

If something I order doesn’t fit, I simply let Amazon know I want to return it, they create a label and I print it out. I box the item up in the same box it arrived to me. Luckily, I have a UPS drop-off 1/2 block away where I simply drop off the box. The same day I’m credited that dollar amount I paid for the item. How simple is that? If you don’t have a drop-off, you can have UPS come directly to your home. Again, simple. I’ve come to love online shopping like this from the comfort of my own home. I don’t have to go too far in the freezing winter or boiling summer. Perfect.

Sometimes, you can write a seller directly and let them know that an item isn’t to your liking. Just be polite about it and send them a photo or two if the item isn’t right. Explain to them why. I’d say 98% of the sellers responded favorably to any messages I’ve left whenever I’ve had a problem. And I’ve always left those that did positive feedback. For those 2% that were weird or nasty, their feedback reflected their attitudes.

It’s really like a search engine when you first go on the site. Just type in what you’re looking for. The results will come back. Start shopping around and compare, just as if you were shopping from store to store. Read the reviews left by others(very important).

If you’re buying clothing, read about the sizing and how others say the clothing fits. Asian-sized clothing does not fit like USA-sized clothing. You’ll have to learn how to use a tape measure to measure your clothing and compare its measurements against Asian sizing.

For example, Asian clothing is measured in centimeters, ours in inches. Take a blouse and measure it from shoulder to shoulder. Write down this number. That will be the “shoulder”. Measure where the bust would be from one side to the other and double it.  Do the same for the waist. After you write all these numbers down, do the same for a favorite pair of jeans(waist, hips, rise, length) and then dress pants. Now you’ll have your sizing numbers to compare. Then you read the reviews. If people are saying the clothing runs small and to upsize, then do that. Buy the item in a size 2 or 3 times larger. If you read the sellers measurements and compare, you’ll generally see that your measurements will fit into that “larger” size. If I’m a USA 12, in Asian size, that could be up to a 3 or 4x. Or it could be a 1x. You must read the measurements listed.

Its not difficult once you see the prices and fashions that might catch your eye. Some people tell me they wouldn’t bother to do all that “work” just to order clothing online, but to me, it’s so much easier than driving from store to store and town to town. Cheaper, too. And my style is different because I’m not buying from generic big box stores, but instead I’m purchasing from items online from an array of sellers.

It’s really that simple. I never knew it was. My kids shop Amazon all the time. Now I know why. I hope this tutorial helps.

Peace.

Sorceress

All works past, present and future are protected under a CCC. Creative Common License, Kaarie Blake Musings by Kaarie Blake is licensed under a Creative Common Attribution-Noncommercial-Noderivs-3.0-Unported License.

 

Leave a Reply

