DIY Subscription Box-Part 1

I have this really great Dollar Store near me (actually 4) but only one of them has this beauty aisle where I can score these super deals for a buck each. I love to go in and check out what’s hanging on those pegboards!

Believe me, I love places like Sephora and Ulta, and I hang out in those places too. I’ll hit Target too to see what’s new in their beauty aisles. After I’ve checked the perfumes at my local TJMaxx, Ross and Marshalls, I’ll always see what’s in stock in their beauty departments, as well. You just never know what you’ll find.

I’ve already told you that I now order the monthly Target beauty box and I also subscribe to Play! by Sephora. Those are the two boxes that I’ve decided on after much reading and comparing of all the boxes currently out there in the subscription box world. A person can go absolutely nuts spending their money on boxes sent to them with merchandise picked out by someone else. I’m not saying it’s not fun and if you have the funds to do it, and want someone else to curate a box for you and sometimes be surprised (sometimes you get to see what’s in a box ahead of time, sometimes you get to choose an item of two in a box ahead of time), then go ahead and have loads of fun subscribing!

I personally chose Target and Play! by Sephora (two opposite-end spectrum boxes) for a reason. For Sephora, it’s so much fun to dip into high-end products that I really doubt I could constantly afford or justify (looking at you Sunday Riley Good Genes).  Some of the products I can, some I just would never. As for Target boxes, I can afford anything they decide to put in their boxes.

But here’s the thing that I have noticed with the boxes. Although Target will send one or two full-sized products and the rest in the box are tiny samples, Sephora puts in little samples or sample-sized products and many of the items in their boxes are labeled “samples-not for resale”. Hmmmm. That doesn’t make me happy when I pay for a box. Even though these are higher-end products, they’re still gratis given to them by the respective companies and Sephora is still stuffing them in a subscription box for re-sale.

So I started wondering what kind of beauty box could I put together if I went into my local Dollar Store and spent under $12? What kind of value could I put together myself? Here’s two beauty boxes that I put together that I think are great values. Anyone can do this themselves and have loads of fun doing it!

SOTD1

Sorceress Of The Dark Beauty Box #1:

Cost: $11.00

SOTD2

Products: 1. Wet ‘n’ Wild Coloricon Brow + Eyeliner in 649 MinkBrown/650D PurpleViolet-These are so soft and spreadable. They don’t pull on your lids and you can sharpen them to a point. You get two in a package. Retail: $1.50

2. E.L.F. Persimmon Essential All Over Color Stick-Love this stick! It really is an all-over color stick! I’ve used it as a blush, a lipstick and an eyeshadow. It’s blendable, soft and creamy. Retail: $5.99

3. LA Colors Bold Lash Mascara in Very Black-Small enough to tuck in your purse. Not a mind-boggling mascara, but one that will give you a clean, everyday look for running around town doing errands. Retail: $5.00

4. Wet ‘n’ Wild On Edge Longwearing Eye Pencil Fergie Hypersky A253-Gorgeous eye-popping blue that’s so soft, non-tugging and can be sharpened. Love it for the summer! Retail: $5.25

20160715_215543-1

5. Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips in Spring Fever- I’ve been using these for years and love how long they last! The paisley flowers are perfect for summertime! Retail $4.05

6. Sally Hansen Nail Stickers in Faux Real- Perfect for year-round. Retail: $2.50

7. Sally Hansen Salon Effects Reverse French Real Nail Polish Strips in Red My Tulips- I adore this color for the holidays and can’t wait to use them! Retail: $5.25

SOTD4

8. A & D Ointment- I’ve been using this for an eye cream periodically. I like to switch up my creams because I feel skin becomes used to the same formulas. A & D has Vitamin A (as retinyl palmitate) in it. It belongs to the family of retinoids, is less irritating but should not be used on your skin in sunlight. It is good for cuticles, a hand and foot cream, also. Retail: $5.45

9. Global Beauty Care Retinol Makeup Cleansing Wipes 30 Count- I’ve used these countless times when I’m too tired to properly wash my face. They do take off make-up well. Retail: $6.95.

10. SkinNutritions New York Age Defy Ultimate Dark Spot Corrector-This contains Kojic Acid (a skin whitener), Ascorbic Glucoside (a form of Vitamin C), and Polypeptides (moisture-binding, anti-aging) and many other ingredients. Retail: $2.50

SOTD5

11. C. Booth Skin Below The Chin Spun Sugar Body Cream-this smells so good! It’s extremely hydrating for winter-time! Retail: $4.99

Although I only paid $11.00 for these 11 products, the value I could estimate from the Web was $48.93! So this beauty box I put together was worth over 4x what I paid for it , had all full-size products in it, and I chose all the products myself so I know I’ll use them.

I feel as long as I’ve done my research on products and ingredients, checked out what others have had to say about products and then made a rational decision about tossing that buck at the clerk, I’m just as happy, hell, happier that I’m walking away with a BUNCH of stuff for under $12 bucks. It’s as if I curated my own subscriptions box!

I’ve done a second box just to show that this isn’t a one-time thing. Check out the next post to see what’s in Sorceress Of The Dark’s Beauty Box #2!

Peace,

Sorceress

All works past, present and future are protected under a CCC. Creative Common License, Kaarie Blake Musings by Kaarie Blake is licensed under a Creative Common Attribution-Noncommercial-Noderivs-3.0-Unported License.

All products purchased by Sorceress Of The Dark for this post.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

