Drugstore Cosmetics That Work!

Bargain cosmetics. Drugstore make-up. Are they worth it? Absolutely! Two of my favorite brands are Wet-n-Wild and E.L.F., both found in drugstores, discount stores and dollar stores. Both brands do not test on animals, another plus. LAColors is another brand found in dollar and bargain stores that works well and does the job.

 

Wet-n-Wild Megalast Nail Color.

Wet-n-Wild Megalast Nail Color.

Wet-N-Wild Megalast nail color is incredible. Especially if you can buy any of these polishes on sale or buy one get one, you’re getting an incredible steal. But even at their regular price of $1.99, they’re still one of the better polishes that you’ll buy.

The brush is super wide and flat. It almost covers your entire nail bed. How simple an idea is that? Why don’t all the nail polish manufacturers use this idea? I love the notion that two swipes on my nails and one swipe on my last two nails covers it for me.

The colors are great and all I need are two coats to last my manicures for a good 5-7 days. I use a bottom and a top coat to ensure that they last. I bought one recently and was so impressed I went out and bought 7 other colors to stock up for the spring.

To test out the strength of the new Megalast, I deliberately did my nails and then shampooed my carpets, did a load of dishes (without rubber gloves), and general housework without worrying about my manicure. To my surprise, I didn’t have to touch up my nails. I could not believe it. This stuff actually lasts a good week and I had to take it off because I tired of the color and it’s time to change my manicure. Good work Wet n Wild!

No animal testing too. I’m done with paying more for the expensive salon nail colors that chip the next day. I will not waste my money and time on anything else anymore. These colors are just as pretty, stay longer and are cruelty-free. Absolutely love them.

L.A. Colors All-In-One Pencil.

L.A. Colors All-In-One Pencil.

L.A. Colors All-In-One Pencil is a soft, colored pencil that works three ways. Another find I can’t say enough good things about. Another dollar store find that’s ridiculously fabulous for a buck and I wouldn’t be without it. Not to mention the compliments that I’ve received on my make-up when I’ve only used this stick as a lipstick, blush and eyeshadow. That’s right. It’s called the “All-In-One” for a reason, and believe me when I say, you don’t need anything else, besides your mascara, setting powder, and eyebrow powder for a natural look that is so very easy and looks really good.
The color that I have is Pink Satin. I’m fair, blue-eyed and blonde and it works wonderful for me. I’ve been asked what color lipstick I’m wearing, or what color blush I have on, what eyeshadow I’m wearing, etc., when all I’m wearing is just this pencil all over. It’s a creamy, lush, thick pencil that goes on smoothly wherever you place it. It glides up, so you don’t have to worry about sharpening it. It lasts forever. This color is a deeper rosy hue that seems to fit my complexion, and brings out my eyes. I use it in the creases only for a more natural look. It seems to last all day long, but I also do use a setting powder. What a find for a buck!

E.L.F. Studio High Definition Undereye Setting Powder.

E.L.F. Studio High Definition Undereye Setting Powder.

E.L.F. Studio High Definition Undereye Setting Powder comes in a tiny little container. It’s a whitish powder that’s to be used under your eye. What does it do? It lightens underneath, it highlights, it brightens.

I haven’t had any problems with glitter chunks in this product. There are some glittery pieces, but as I use a small concealer brush to blend it in under my eyes, they blend in very well and don’t leave any type of shimmer at all for me.
I love the packaging. It’s small and compact. I turn the jar upside down, a little comes out into the lid, and I dip my brush into it. You don’t need much at all. For my fair skin, the color seems to work very well. I would imagine depending on the color of your skin, it might appear as if there is too much glitter. If that’s the case, I would suggest to use it more as a highlighter instead. Why waste it? It’s actually a multi-tasker product.
It’s a soft, blendable powder that smooths right in without making any lines noticeable. That’s important. After I apply this powder, when I’m finished with my makeup and setting powder, I can also apply a dab of my eye moisturizer (I use one of Shiseido’s for extra hydration) and the powder still remains.
It brightens my undereye area just enough without making it appear ghostly white. The trick is to use the right brush, not be heavy-handed and also to get the right amount for your eye area. As with any makeup, it always takes some practice. But that’s half the fun.

Another winner from E.L.F. that doesn’t break the bank that’s cruelty-free.

E.L.F. Essential Wet Gloss Lash & Brow Clear Mascara.

E.L.F. Essential Wet Gloss Lash & Brow Clear Mascara.

E.L.F. Essential Wet Gloss Lash & Brow Clear Mascara is a great dual purpose item from E.L.F. for a buck. I love that the tube is see-thru so you know exactly how much is left in it or how dark or contaminated a side is getting. This company really is on the ball.
I’ve used the one side for my brows to keep them finished neatly, with and without eyebrow makeup. The obvious downside is that the wand will pick up color from your brow makeup and redeposit it back into the tube. It’s a gel that’s more on the drier side and I can use the mascara type brush to comb my brows in the direction I want. If there’s any flaking I can just comb it out with the same brush, no problem.
The other side is labeled for your eyes so you can’t mistake the two, a big plus if you do decide to use it for both your eyes and brows. I have coated my lashes as a final coat to see if it prevents flaking and smudging. This does seem to do the trick in a pretty decent way. I’ve tried it on a variety of mascaras, even fell asleep, and found my mascara intact. Frankly, I was surprised. I haven’t tested it on all of my mascaras yet, so I’m not sure if it really will work in that manner.
I find using it just as a gloss for my lashes doesn’t really accomplish much. I need more than it can offer for my short, blonde lashes. It doesn’t have the capacity to lengthen, volumize or darken in any way.
I don’t find it clumpy or wet at all. I’ve also had my tube now for a few months and it’s still wet and nothing dried out, so it’s lasting a pretty long time for what it cost me.
I’ll repurchase when it’s time. I think it’s this is a good makeup staple in my makeup toolbox that I use daily.

Wet-n-Wild Mega Liner Liquid Eyeliner.

Wet-n-Wild Mega Liner Liquid Eyeliner.

Wet-n-Wild Mega Liner Liquid Eyeliner is super easy to use, so inexpensive, basic color choices, cruelty-free, washes off with water yet stays put…another winner from Wet’n’Wild.
I first bought this in #864, which is a dark, deep purple, very pretty color to make your eyes pop. I usually use black, that’s always been my staple color, or the darkest blue I can find in a kohl pencil, but for some reason, I had purchased this one in the Liquid Eyeliner. I have to admit, for awhile there, I was on the search for a multitude of eyeliners in a gazillion colors. Whatever unusual shades I could find, I’d buy them if I thought they’d pop my grayish-blue eyes. Shades of purple always seem to be complimentary.
Then I bought the turquoise, navy blue, black sparkle (which is really a nice black with very little sparkle) and I’m delighted. I was wearing the turquoise (more of a green) at Sephora and an SA asked me if it was one of their high-end ones that they carried in their store because he thought the color was extremely flattering. Wet-n-Wild fooled a Sephora sales associate. That works for me. Every time I wear the turquoise I get compliments. It’s just a great color.
The liner is thin and flexible and I like that. It gives me latitude in lining both my upper and below my lower lashes. I don’t do my waterline with this. But the liner is so thin that I can create an absolutely great line under my lower lashes that is not large at all, just a line that looks more like my mascara is darker there. It’s great for doing that.
For my top lids, I can easily do the line in short strokes for my comfort in doing a straighter line, or if I want to smudge the line immediately. The color is good, it’s dark and stays that way until I take it off. I was a bit worried about removal. I always worry the first time with eyeliners, wondering if I’m going to have to pull or tug at my under eye area. Didn’t have to with this. Just used a q-tip to do the last clean-up after cleansing my face and it was gone. Easy stuff to remove.
You can get Wet’n’Wild at CVS, Rite-Aid, Walmart, Walgreens and other stores at their regular inexpensive prices, but I always look for the sales. There must be a sale at least once a week within one of these stores where you can BOGO or get a percentage off. That’s when you can really have fun and get more for your bucks.
I like that this company also donates their products to disadvantaged women returning to the workforce to help them feel better about themselves. They’re a charitable company that believes in women, are cruelty-free and also feels cosmetics shouldn’t “cost your paycheck”. Great mission statement. It works for me.
Seriously, for a couple of bucks, they’re dupes for higher-end ones, and they last all day till you take them off? You can’t go wrong, ladies.

E.L.F. Studio Kabuki Brush.

E.L.F. Studio Kabuki Brush.

So I went on an E.L.F. haul this week and one of the items I picked up was the Studio Kabuki Face Brush. How soft it is! How delightfully soft! This is the third Kabuki brush I have owned and I’m sure this is by far the best but certainly not the cheapest. The bristles are white with tinged black at the tips and a black handle. It is just the right size for your hand, a good hefty Kabuki brush for 6 dollars.
It has not left any bristles on my face nor has it lost any bristles during washing. So far, so good. That’s always been my main complaint with any brush I use. This Kabuki delicately swipes my powder across my skin as it should leaving a flawless finish, as I expect it to. That’s what a Kabuki brush should do. Leave a gentle, light finish. The handle is supposed to be short to allow an easy handling and not a heavy hand in applying your powder/blush/bronzer. E.L.F. did a good job in their design.
I use it with E.L.F.’s High Definition Powder, which is a white, sheer, loose powder in a tub. I swirl the brush in the powder, tap it and apply it to my face. It leaves just the right amount on my skin as I buff it across various areas, allowing the powder to leave a nice, dewy finish without settling into any fine lines, creases or pores.
Since it doesn’t come with its own holder, I kept the plastic upright container it was boxed in and use that as my Kabuki Brush’s stand. It keeps it fresh and clean from outside contaminants. It’s easy to wash and dries overnight. A little bulky to put in your makeup bag with the container and you’d squash it if you carried it alone., but you really don’t need to carry one around during the day. It’s a great brush at a bargain price, you won’t be sorry for trying it.

E.L.F. Mascara Shadow Shield.

E.L.F. Mascara Shadow Shield.

Whomever was the brainchild of E.L.F.’s Mascara Shadow Shield should be the recipient of an award. How many of us have gone through countless q-tips as we clean up our under-eye area of mascara drops and eye shadow that has filtered down? Well, no more will you have to do that. You have just saved yourself the money and time for all of those with this shield. It’s easy to use, it’s washable with each use and it’s inexpensive. What more could you ask?
You place the Shield underneath your bottom lashes and apply however many coats of mascara you want against it. No mascara hits your skin but it goes expertly on your lashes. The pay-off? No clean-up. No swabbing underneath your eyes.
Turn it sideways against your upper lid and apply your mascara again for as many coats as you’d like and none of it hits your lid. No swabbing again. The klutziest of them all can use this with beautiful results.
It’s washable. It’s made of a thick silicone that bends easily on a wand. It cost only three dollars. If something happened to it, I’d purchase it again, without a doubt. I’m one of those people that cannot apply mascara to my bottom lashes without also having raccoon eyes. My clean-up must involve at least 4 q-tips per eye. I just can’t do it. I never could. I’ve used all kinds of wands, even Clinique’s little baby wand for the bottom lashes and that didn’t do it for me. But this Shadow Shield works, and made me a happy person.
What made me the happiest was being able to apply multiple coats to my bottom lashes without the bother of clean-up. For those of you that know what I’m talking about, you eventually say to yourself, I’m done putting enough mascara on because you don’t want to clean up anymore. Now you don’t have to think about it, just use this Shield and put on as much mascara as you want to make your lashes as full and luxurious as you want without the bother.
It really does work. Thanks E.L.F.

E.L.F. Studio High Definition Powder.

E.L.F. Studio High Definition Powder.

E.L.F.’s Studio High Definition Powder is absolutely one of their best products. I could not believe how much I would fall in love with this white powder. I use the high definition powder that is absolutely white, not any shade of color. According to the back of the box, it “creates a soft focus, masks fine lines, and makes you camera-ready”. Well, believe it all. And believe it for 6 bucks.
The container is the black heavy plastic box that has a screw-on top. It sits nicely on any vanity. Once you take the top off, there is a little powder puff that you can use, but I would recommend E.L.F.’s better Kabuki Brush to buff this powder in after application. The top of the powder contains a plastic top similar to a sifter, where you just have to be careful in allowing so much to come out. Eventually you get the hang of it.
I use the puff to first apply it to my finished face. Yes, I look ghostly when I do this. And I am as fair as Snow White. Then I take my Kabuki and begin to buff the powder into my face. It gives my face a delightful matte finish with a radiance, but very little glow that I find very appealing and natural. It lasts for hours. I don’t look like I have powder on at all. As a matter of fact, the white chalkiness is gone, the ghost look has disappeared, and suddenly, my makeup is completed with a professional look. All in minutes for a few dollars.
The powder feels like silk. It’s soft. It’s not drying at all. It doesn’t settle into any fine lines. It doesn’t highlight any lines, either. Years ago, Clinique had offered a similar powder to this one and I used it faithfully. I’ve never found another one that I’ve liked until I tried this one.
What’s amazing about it is that it won’t cover up your other make-up or change the color of your skin/make-up/eye make-up, etc., which is what you want. You want a flawless finish powder to set your make-up, not cover it. And that’s what this does.  The container actually lasted 9 months before I had to replace it.
Well worth the price. I even took a small amount and put it into another tiny sifter container I had from another brand for my makeup bag for touchups, should I need them. I love the way this powder feels on my skin with its light composition, its texture, the pigmentation is just right and there is absolutely no smell at all.
Another great way to use it is when I am not wearing any type of foundation/BB cream/tinted moisturizer but I want to rid my face of the shine from my moisturizer when I go out on my errands. I use the same technique as above, and the shine is gone and I still have that little glow. I just add some lipstick, and now I have a natural look for the day. I really do love this powder. It’s lasting quite some time for me and a little goes a long, long way.
Just a great product from E.L.F.’s better line of products.

All of the above products were purchased for about $20.00 plus tax. That’s it. I’m not a big make-up person by any means. I’d rather go natural, if I could, and I do, most of the time. I wear powder, do my eyebrows, put something on my lips, line my eyes and that’s my basic. I believe if you take care of your skin early on, it will show as the years go by and you can get by with as little make-up as possible. The less made-up a woman is, the more beauty she shows. Sure, there are times when we must do ourselves up for special occasions. But every day? Nope. Not me. I want to be comfortable in my own skin. It’s fun to play, but not everyday.

The point of it is, there are products in drugstores on the lower-end of dollar spectrum that are just as great in their functioning as high-end designer ones. You don’t have to pay a lot to look great. You’re not wearing the label on your face. There are a lot of brands to choose from, a lot of products out there. Do your research, buy what you really only need, and always check a store’s return policy before you buy. If it doesn’t work out, make sure you can return it for a full refund.

Peace.

Sorceress.

All works past, present and future are protected under a CCC. Creative Common License, Kaarie Blake Musings by Kaarie Blake is licensed under a Creative Common Attribution-Noncommercial-Noderivs-3.0-Unported License.

 

Leave a Reply

