Nirvana Black and White by Elizabeth and James…Why Do People Buy and Wear Those Things?

Elizabeth and James Nirvana.

Elizabeth and James Nirvana. (Photos courtesy of Sephora site.)

I recently tested Nirvana Black and Nirvana White. No, no, not for me. Not either of them. Let me explain.

Nirvana Black comes across as pure pepper. Very strong pepper hit me immediately and stayed throughout the life of this perfume. It never diminished. A wash of sandalwood envelops the peppery sense as if it’s framing it solidly. Here’s the problem. The sandalwood smells synthetic. It’s not woody. It’s not natural. It doesn’t bring any pleasant images.  On top of that, the pepper stings. It bites.

As two lonely prominent notes, they’re headache inducing.  Unfortunately, in Nirvana Black, they were the only two notes that surfaced.

It was suggested to me to at Sephora to layer Nirvana Black and Nirvana White. I did. I tried the suggestion. Now, bear in mind the cost of this suggestion. Even at the cost of the rollerballs which are $22 apiece, that would be layering $44 worth of perfume, just to make Nirvana Black better.

Frankly, it only made it worse. Nirvana Black is far stronger and overpowers Nirvana White, which is an in your face blast of a floral. Peony is the main note and it hits you full frontal in White. As in Black, White has the power to smell synthetic.

So what did Nirvana Black really remind me of? Walking down the laminate plastic aisle at Home Depot. That’s my mental image when I smell my hand, my wrist, and where I sprayed this perfume. These are not people-pleasers. At least not to me.

On the up side, they lasted for five hours, that’s at least the point that I decided to wash them off. So longevity is wonderful. After the initial blast, which is rather strong, they do sit close to the skin. Nirvana Black seems more suitable for shopping in the winter-time in any home-remodeling store and Nirvana White just comes across more as a floral room spray.

Both are listed as unisex fragrances, but they didn’t seem masculine nor feminine to me. Probably because of the more synthetic feel to them, I couldn’t nor I wouldn’t classify them as either type of fragrance.

These two perfumes are encased in a rather chic container, stylish and sleek. Actually visually pleasing and different. It’s the one aspect of the perfume I did like.

Nirvana Black Notes: Violet, Sandalwood, Vanilla.

Nirvana White Notes: Peony, Musk, Lily-Of-The-Valley.

Nirvana White is considered a floral woody musk, while Nirvana Black is considered a woody perfume. The 1.7 oz. Eau de Parfum spray is available for $75.00, the 1 oz. Eau de Parfum spray is $55.00, and the .34 oz. roller ball is $22.00, all available at Sephora. See Elizabeth and James Nirvana perfumes at Sephora here: http://www.sephora.com/elizabeth-james?brandId=7028&ref=2111028.

Peace.

Sorceress.

All works past, present and future are protected under a CCC. Creative Common License, Kaarie Blake Musings by Kaarie Blake is licensed under a Creative Common Attribution-Noncommercial-Noderivs-3.0-Unported License.

Leave a Reply

