Chantilly and The House of Houbigant…Why Do People Buy and Wear Those Things?

Chantilly Perfume.

Chantilly Perfume.

Lemony soap. After sneezing my way through both the vintage and today’s version of Chantilly, I’ve decided that although it’s a nice scent for my dishwashing liquid, I could never wear this perfume. Unfortunately for me, it doesn’t wear very well.
Chantilly opens with a basic lemony true soapy scent. About an hour into wearing it, I was able to detect a faint powdered vanilla fragrance still capturing an aroma of citrus zest, reminding me to clean out my kitchen cabinets. That was the vintage side talking gently to me. The newer formulation was screeching lemon-infused brillo pads at me and screaming “Get To Work Now…Or Else!” I decided to dodge the brillo pads being thrown at me and head for the hills.
At this point I can finally use the term “scrubber” for Chantilly in the truest and purest way of Journalism that I have been taught since college. Off to the sink I go.

Chantilly is a perfume introduced in 1941 by Houbigant and is now being produced by Dana.  Houbigant was founded in Paris, France in 1775. Over the centuries, the House of Houbigant became the perfumer to the royal courts of Europe. You can read more here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Houbigant_(perfume).

The nose behind Chantilly, an oriental perfume,  is Paul Parquet, who also created Fougere Royale.

Chantilly can be found online, in stores today and on the secondary market.

Top Notes: Fruity Notes, Neroli, Bergamot, Lemon.

Middle Notes: Spices, Carnation, Jasmine, Ylang-Ylang, Rose, Orange Blossom.

Base Notes: Leather, Tonka Bean, Musk, Benzoin, Oak Moss, Vanilla, Sandalwood.

Peace.

Sorceress.

All works past, present and future are protected under a CCC. Creative Common License, Kaarie Blake Musings by Kaarie Blake is licensed under a Creative Common Attribution-Noncommercial-Noderivs-3.0-Unported License.

Leave a Reply

