Open The Door For Red Door Perfume….Why Do People Buy and Wear Those Things?

Red Door.

Red Door.

An all-business perfume, no doubt, one that reminds me of a mature lady, all suits, hair back in a bun, clothes dry-cleaned and ironed, sharply dressed. I couldn’t wear this fragrance any other time. Or so I thought. It always seemed too serious for me.
The straight tuberous hits hard in the beginning for me but is deliciously and creamily mellowed by the additional notes. On me, it’s as if the tuberose is fully wrapped around by everything else. You know, it’s there, it’s a strong element, but it’s also mellowed for about 2 or so hours.
Then Red Door turns to a completely different perfume than its original scent on me. It becomes a spicy, honeyed powder that’s still strong and enjoyable. The florals disappear and Red Door becomes a full-blown oriental on me. What a change-over.

The woods mingle with the benzoin and become delicious. The honey mixes in. Red Door loses its florals and becomes a spice bomb of deliciousness for me. An interesting perfume this becomes that lasts for hours upon hours. Sillage sits comfortable around you like a floating cloud if Red Door agrees with you. That is the key to this perfume. It’s a powerhouse that will knock the socks off the people around you if it doesn’t agree with your body chemistry. I’m glad it turns into a wonderfully spicy oriental on me.
Day Two of wearing it I received compliments on the perfume I was wearing. Even tho I had never tried Red Door before, always avoiding it, I had decided to take the plunge and try it. I had a generous sample to last me for a few days so I decided to wear it again and see how I felt about this classic. On Day Three a woman shopping for perfumes complimented me and asked me for suggestions for herself. Go figure. Red Door must agree with me then if another woman asked for suggestions on perfumes. I guess it does suit me (pun intended) after all. Kinda grows on you surreptitiously. I’ll be opening the door for Red Door now.
Top Notes: Orange Blossom, Plum, Violet, Peach, Anise, Rose.
Middle Notes: Honey, Carnation, Tuberose, Orchid, Freesia, Lily, Ylang-Ylang, Lily-Of-The-Valley, Rose, Jasmine.
Base Notes: Sandalwood, Amber, Musk, Benzoin, Vetiver, Heliotrope, Cedar.

Red Door Perfume was produced by Elizabeth Arden in 1989. The nose behind Red Door is Carlos Benaim. It is available in retailers, online and on the secondary market. Red Door is considered an oriental floral perfume.

Peace.

Sorceress.

All works past, present and future are protected under a CCC. Creative Common License, Kaarie Blake Musings by Kaarie Blake is licensed under a Creative Common Attribution-Noncommercial-Noderivs-3.0-Unported License.

Leave a Reply

