Dollar Store Bargains For Make-Up and Assorted Sundries …Why Do People Buy and Wear Those Things?

Ever shop the dollar store for make-up?Have you perused the beauty aisle to see what’s on the shelves? You just might be surprised. Brand names for a dollar. Items that do the trick for a lot less. And hey, for a buck, you can’t go wrong.

Every time I hit a dollar store I make sure I talk a walk down the beauty aisle just to see what’s on their shelves. What brands they might be stocking today. I’ve seen E.L.F., L.A.Colors, NYX, Sally Hansen, L’oreal and Jordana just to name a few. Not sure of these brands? Google the names for reviews of their products and see what other consumers have to say about them. That should give you a good idea whether you’d be happy with putting out a buck for that mascara or lipstick.

The founders of E.L.F. developed their business after noticing women shopping for cosmetics in a dollar store. The story goes that they noticed women in high-end vehicles, dressed in designer clothing, filling their carts with dollar bargains of make-up and other assorted sundries. They quickly designed a plan to develop affordable make-up and market it at a price-point beginning at dollar. That was in 2004 and the rest is history. Read more about E.L.F. here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/E.l.f._Cosmetics.

Here’s another dollar store find that’s ridiculously fabulous for a buck and I wouldn’t be without it. Not to mention the compliments that I’ve received on my make-up when I’ve only used this color stick as a lipstick, blush and eyeshadow. That’s right. It’s called the “All-In-One” by LA Colors for a reason, and believe me when I say, you don’t need anything else, besides your mascara, setting powder, and eyebrow powder for a natural look that is so very easy and looks really good.
The color that I chose is Pink Satin. I’m fair, blue-eyed and blonde and it works wonderfully for my skin tone. I’ve been asked what color lipstick I’m wearing, or what color blush I have on, what eyeshadow I’m wearing, etc., when all I’m wearing is just this pencil. It’s a creamy, lush, thick pencil that goes on smoothly wherever you place it. It glides up, so you don’t have to worry about sharpening it. It lasts forever. This color is a deeper rosy hue that seems to fit my complexion, and it bring depth to my eyes. I use it in the creases only for a more natural look. It seems to last all day long, but I also do use a setting powder. What a find for a buck! A similar department store stick will easily cost you twenty dollars or more.

I shop department stores, Sephora, Ulta and online for my make-up. But that doesn’t stop me from haunting the aisles of any dollar store to see what they may have. I’ve picked up nail polish, mascara, lipsticks, eyeshadows, highlighters, makeup brushes, under-eye pads, and assorted other goodies, all  name brands at a buck apiece. In today’s economy, it’s worth shopping around. Know your brands, know what you’re looking for and know your products.

Dollar stores go under a lot of different names, and here are just a few:  Dollar Tree, Dollar General, Disco Dollar, Real Deal Dollar Store, Family Dollar, Dollar Giant, 99 Cents Only. More are popping up every day and I’m sure you can ask in your location where they might be. Most if not all  take credit and debit cards and some also have online shopping.

But here’s the important caveat, don’t waste money, even if it’s a dollar on something you won’t use. Shop wisely, be educated about your products and you’ll always be the educated consumer. Just have fun shopping with that dollar bill. It’s easy to spend it, thinking it’s only a dollar. But if you’re not going to use the product, don’t buy it. And some of the dollar stores have a “no refund” policy.

Peace.

Sorceress.

All works past, present and future are protected under a CCC. Creative Common License, Kaarie Blake Musings by Kaarie Blake is licensed under a Creative Common Attribution-Noncommercial-Noderivs-3.0-Unported License.

Leave a Reply

