Safari By Ralph Lauren-Acrid, Biting & Mordacious-Why Do People Buy and Wear Those Things?

Ralph Lauren Safari.

Ralph Lauren Safari.

Safari began as a very earthy scent for me, a welcome winter fragrance that is full, rich and seems to embody heavy spices. It’s a very powerful perfume that can overwhelm if used with a heavy hand, I found. If dabbed on the pulse points and one allows the heat of the body to release it, Safari is better allowed to express itself. But then it begins to change.
It seems to switch around at mid-point  and become more cloyingly thick with floral overtones. I had difficulty with this perfume. As time went on, it thickened, rather than mellow out and ease into my own body chemistry. The scent became more astringent and dark green in affect rather than sweeter grasses. It was far more pungent than I expected. Safari became acrid, biting and mordacious rather than a perfume that one would think would remind them of the high desert. Then again, that’s what I think a Safari would be to me. Considering I’m a vegetarian.

Needless to say, but I’ll say it anyway, Safari and I didn’t work out.

Safari is considered a floral green and was introduced in 1990. It is now on the secondary market as a vintage and available through auctions, etc.
This vintage safari turned out not to be my style and work against me, rather than with me. I felt I  must have been attending the after-Safari at dark, and not in a good way and was happy to end my trials with this perfume.
Top Notes: Orange, Black Currant, Tagetes, Narcissus, Mandarin Orange, Galbanum, Hiacynth, Cassis.
Middle Notes: Rosemary, Orange Blossom, Orris Root, Italian Jasmine, Rose, Narcissus.
Base Notes: Sandalwood, Amber, Patchouli, Vetiver, Cedar.

Peace.

Sorceress

All works past, present and future are protected under a CCC. Creative Common License, Kaarie Blake Musings by Kaarie Blake is licensed under a Creative Common Attribution-Noncommercial-Noderivs-3.0-Unported License.

Leave a Reply

